State and territory road safety strategies

Complementing and expanding on their commitment to the National Road Safety Strategy, individual states and territories maintain their own comprehensive road safety strategies.

Australian Capital Territory

The ACT Road Safety Strategy 2011–2020 and ACT Road Safety Action Plan 2016–2020 are available from the Justice and Community Safety Directorate

New South Wales

The NSW Road Safety Strategy 2012–21 and a number of specific road safety strategies and action plans are available from the Centre for Road Safety

Northern Territory

The Northern Territory Transport Strategic Plan 2014–2018, is available from the Department of Transport. The Northern Territory Government sought input for the development of the new Road Safety Action Plan and a discussion paper was released 12 May 2017.


Safer Roads, Safer Queensland: Queensland's Road Safety Strategy 2015–21 and Road Safety Action Plan 2015–17 are available from the Department of Transport and Main Roads

South Australia

Towards Zero Together, South Australia's Road Safety Strategy 2020 is available from the Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure


The Tasmanian Road Safety Strategy 2017–2026 (Towards Zero Strategy) and Towards Zero Action Plan 2017–19 are available from the Department of State Growth


Victoria's Towards Zero Road Safety Strategy and Action Plan 2016–2020 are available from Towards Zero Victoria

Western Australia

Western Australia's road safety strategy for 2008–2020 Towards Zero and Action Plan for 2015/16 are available from the Road Safety Commission